How To Be a Next Big Thing

~Special thanks to Edith Maxwell for the invitation to participate in The Next Big Thing Blog Hop. A quick trip to Edith’s blog will show you how she came to write her Local Foods Mystery series. Edith’s alternate writing persona is Tace Baker, whose mystery Speaking of Murder  features a Quaker linguistics professor solving a murder in small-town Massachusetts.~

The Next Big Thing is a Q&A for women writers. To do the Next Big Thing, a writer answers 10 questions about their current work and then tags a few other authors who will share the status of their own WIPS. My answers are below, with writer friend links to follow:

1. What is your working title of your book?

Sacred Writing Time

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

This past year, I checked off an item on my writing bucket list when I was awarded a residency at the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts. My weeks there were life-changing. I have long been a devotee of retreats, residencies, and writing weekends, but my experience at VCCA drove me to put on paper a guide to making your own writing retreats happen.

3. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Sacred Writing Time is a no excuses, no frills DIY guide to carving out time–an hour, a day, a weekend, a week, a month–and finding inspiring environments where you can be fully and devotedly creative.

4.What genre does your book fall under?

Writing reference

5. What actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Not really applicable, but I have no objection if Blond Bond makes an appearance at any of the retreats or getaways mentioned in the book!

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

To Be Decided.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

At this time, I am putting together a book proposal and writing sample chapters. As this is non-fiction, I’m shopping the pitch while I write.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron.

Writing Down the Bones by Natalie Goldberg.

Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

As noted above, my time at VCCA made me want to share the value of the devoted retreat experience. The title comes via my Facebook group, How Many Pages Did You Write Today? In January, I offered the following pledge to members of the group:

I ____________ (<-your name) do solemnly swear to devote _________ amount of time each day to Sacred Writing Time. That means no one and nothing disturbs this time, including myself. I will work at _____________ (<-location). When you, the undersigned, see me at this location, you will respect my Sacred Writing Time Pledge and not disturb me unless there is blood flowing from multiple places on someone’s body.

Signatures: (yours>) __________________

(your family’s>) _______________________

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I have been to all types of retreat and residencies. Some are solo writing days I planned for myself. Some are grant-funded weeks at an artists’ colony or intensives presented by published authors. Some are retreats I was hired to lead for a writers’ group. Some are weekends at an off-season hotel with a writing buddy.

Each writing retreat–private or guided, short or long–gave me the opportunity to make writing a priority. I want Sacred Writing Time to assist other writers in helping the deepest parts of your creative self  get the attention and care it deserves.

Next week be sure to check out the authors I have tagged:

JM Reinbold, author, artist, and writing community supporter extraordinaire

Pamela Mason writes contemporary fantasy romance, runs an awesome Facebook group for early risers, and recently launched a promotions business.

Diane Russom Harrison wants to be the next Jen Lancaster. Get ready to laugh your coke through your nose.

Please click on over to their pages to check out their Next Big Things!

5 thoughts on “How To Be a Next Big Thing

  1. I love the “do not disturb” part of your writing pledge! LOL. I’ll have to copy it and post it over the doorway to the computer room (unfortunately the room doesn’t have a door–it was probably intended as a breakfast nook).

    Like

Leave a Reply

